Autobiography Of Death || Buddy-TOB Book Club ~ Book Review (1).

Hello people. How are you??? I have sprained my heel but I am alive. Now I have all the time in the world to read books with a tinge of pain bursting in my leg. I can’t sleep because of it. Thank you, God!!! Well, here I am with one more review…I present it to you with a broke life and broken heel, so you have no choice but to enjoy it as I can’t do anything more than this. So let’s start this review, shall we???

So I read this book as the commencement of my book club; Buddy-TOB Bookclub that started to explore more Korean culture and literature inspired by a K-pop band called BTOB. They inspired not only me but a lot of my other friends to explore the culture and heritage of South Korea. This band has my heart and soul as they sing slow and soft songs combined with cheerful songs. So without any further ado, let start this post people.

It’s time to read the book.
Autobiography Of Death by Kim Hyesoon.

•Book Description:

Author: Kim Hyesoon.

Publisher: W.W. Norton & Company.

Genre: Literary Criticism > Theory > Poetry.

Chapter: 49 Poems.

Pages: 128 Pages.

Series: No.

Time: 1 hour & 45 minutes.

Publishing / Published: 27th November 2018.

•Official Summary:

The title section of Kim Hyesoon’s powerful new book, Autobiography of Death, consists of forty-nine poems, each poem representing a single day during which the spirit roams after death before it enters the cycle of reincarnation. The poems not only give voice to those who met unjust deaths during Korea’s violent contemporary history, but also unveil what Kim calls “the structure of death, that we remain living in.” Autobiography of Death, Kim’s most compelling work to date, at once reenacts trauma and narrates our historical death—how we have died and how we survive within this cyclical structure. In this sea of mirrors, the plural “you” speaks as a body of multitudes that has been beaten, bombed, and buried many times over by history. The volume concludes on the other side of the mirror with “Face of Rhythm,” a poem about individual pain, illness, and meditation.

•Critics Ratings:

Amazon: 💙4.6/5 Stars💙.

Goodreads: 💙4.17/5 Stars💙.

Taken from Respective Sources.

•My Ratings.

•My Review.

This book had me emotional at the end. Poems are usually written to express emotions but only a few can do that and this book was one of them. I started reading this book inspired by Kpop Idols, BTOB, they intrigued me to try South Korean Literature too and I don’t regret trying it. This book was a journey through death for me. 49 poems of 49 days. In Korea, it is said that a soul takes 49 days to depart earth so these 49 poems take after each day. Each poem had me intrigued. With deep meaning, each of them touched my heart. The writing was beautiful. The translation was clean and easy to read and understand but the best part of everything was the hidden meaning of each poem that was inspired by unjust real-life events that happened in South Korea. The author’s interview and the translator’s note given at the end of the book dive deeper into the meaning of each phrase each word that was used. In the end, I was left with a numb heart and tears in my eyes missing my loved ones who passed away in Covid. I felt the pain the author felt and could relate to most of the poems nicely. I felt nothing wrong with this book and I will say that if you want to feel what death is, read this book. Overall, it was a nice book filled with beautiful and deep poems that take your heart away and fill you with sorrow, and are extremely relatable at some point, this book is not for kids as the language is a little hard and the poems are too deep to understand.

So that’s it for today. I hope you enjoyed my review. It’s been fun writing it ’cause it was fun reading it. So I hope you join me again until then…

Follow My Blog On:

Instagram || Goodreads || Pinterest || My Blog || Twitter.

Signing Out_X.

One response to “Autobiography Of Death || Buddy-TOB Book Club ~ Book Review (1).”

  1. Glad you enjoyed the book, and I hope that your heel gets much better soon, dear Suzan. xx
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Like

Leave a comment